Dialing things back

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I wonder what techy things I'd write if I could just focus on writing? Up until today, I would have spent lots of time finding and setting up a blogging platform, messing with colors, templates, and themes, fumble around for a bit, get side-tracked, circle back and, finally, post one or two things before abandoning it completely. I'd probably spend more time figuring out which free stock photo to include (and where on the page to place it) than I would on the actual content. That may happen here as well. But I have higher hopes.

I'm interested in learning new things and really dialing in those that I only sort-of know now. I've been a "jack-of-all" sort of IT person for awhile now and I think I might finally be OK with that.

My day job allows me to think about and work on more things each day than is probably healthy. After spending a few months casually looking at jobs that would allow me to focus on just a few things each day, I know now that's not what I want.

I'm pretty sure I like the chaos of being a systems administrator who knows a bit about networking, shocking little about hardware, prefers to work on policy, procedure, and documentation, thinks PowerShell could almost replace my mouse if I didn't have to Google nearly every time I used it, Python learner, part-time firewall admin, Office/Microsoft 365 admin, fancy security guy (I'm not but that's what one of my co-workers calls me). I like it all and I like learning how it all works together.

Why am I writing this? For one, that's what the "how to write a resume" people and cybersecurity Twitter says we should do. I'm not looking for a job but I like the gist of capturing these things. The "here's what I'm working on" and "this is what I can do" self promotion. Even more, I want to share the "here's where I got (or am currently) stuck". I don't think people share that stuff enough.

I'm hoping that getting it out of my head and onto paper (well, you know, not paper exactly) will help me get it straight. Work through the imposter syndrome a bit. I'm terrible at writing or speaking about myself so why not paste that on the internet? I like sharing what I don't know and learning with others. If my content focuses on that, this might end up being a bit long.